Screen Shot 2023-01-17 at 12.07.16 PM

President Biden authorized a major disaster declaration for Santa Cruz County on Jan. 14, 2023. The declaration provides assistance to local governments and nonprofits, as well as families and individuals. 

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

How to apply for federal disaster assistance through FEMA:

• Online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov

• Calling 800-621-3362 

• By using the FEMA smartphone application

• If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.



Additional Resources  

Bilingual FEMA Helpline: 800-621-3362. Available until 8 p.m. PST.

The Small Business Association (SBA) offers disaster assistance in the form of low interest loans to businesses, nonprofit organizations, homeowners, and renters located in regions affected by declared disasters. SBA also provides eligible small businesses and nonprofit organizations with working capital to help overcome the economic injury of a declared disaster.


Recovery Resources