News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/20/2022 1:28:59 PM to 6/12/2022 12:00:07 AM.

News Flash


Posted on: May 20, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Californians Encouraged to Always Wear Their Seat Belt


The Watsonville Police Department reminds everyone taking a trip to visit friends or family over the Memorial Day Weekend to always buckle up and keep children in child safety seats.


This year’s Click it or Ticket campaign is from May 23-June 5. During this time, the Watsonville Police Department will be actively looking for drivers and passengers who are not wearing seat belts. This includes vehicles where children are not secured in child safety seats.


“Wearing a seat belt should be automatic for all drivers and passengers,” Watsonville Police Sergeant Donny Thul said. “It’s the safe thing to do, especially when it comes to securing children in child safety seats.”


According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 10,893 people killed in crashes throughout the country in 2020 were not wearing seat belts. In California, 756 people killed in crashes in 2020 were not wearing seat belts or nearly 20 percent of all traffic deaths in the state.


California law requires a child to be secured in a safety or booster seat until they are at least 8 or at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall. Children under the age of 2 must ride in a rear-facing seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches tall. 


California has a primary seat belt law, which allows law enforcement officers to ticket someone for not wearing a seat belt without committing another traffic violation.


Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.


El Departamento de Policía de Watsonville les recuerda a todos los que viajan para visitar a amigos o familiares durante el fin de semana del Día de los Caídos que siempre deben abrocharse el cinturón de seguridad y mantener a los pequeños en asientos de seguridad para niños.


La campaña “Abrochado o Multado” de este año es del 23 de mayo al 5 de junio. Durante este tiempo, oficiales buscarán a conductores y pasajeros sin cinturones de seguridad. Esto incluye vehículos en los que los menores no están asegurados en asientos de seguridad para niños.


“El uso del cinturón de seguridad debería ser automático para todos los conductores y pasajeros”, dijo el Sargento de Policía de Watsonville, Donny Thul. “Es lo más seguro, especialmente cuando se trata de asegurar a los niños en asientos de seguridad para niños”.


Según la Administración Nacional de Seguridad del Tráfico en las Carreteras, 10.893 personas que murieron en accidentes en todo el país en el 2020 no usaban cinturones de seguridad. En California, 756 personas que murieron en choques en 2020 no usaban cinturones de seguridad o casi el 20 por ciento de todas las muertes por accidentes de tránsito en el estado.


La ley de California requiere que un niño esté asegurado en un asiento de seguridad o elevado hasta que tenga al menos 8 o al menos 4 pies, 9 pulgadas de alto. Los niños menores de 2 años deben viajar en un asiento orientado hacia atrás a menos que el niño pese 40 libras o más o mida 40 pulgadas o más.


California tiene una ley principal sobre el uso del cinturón de seguridad, que permite a oficiales multar a alguien por no usar el cinturón de seguridad sin cometer otra infracción de tránsito.


Los fondos para este programa fueron proporcionados por una subvención de la Oficina de Seguridad Vial de California, a través de la Administración Nacional de Seguridad Vial en las Carreteras.

Facebook Twitter Email