News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/14/2019 5:48:53 PM to 5/31/2019 3:20:11 PM.

News Flash


Posted on: May 14, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Click It or Ticket enforcement campaign starts May 20

Adventure Awaits

Extra officers on patrol will be looking for drivers & passengers who are not buckled up

It only takes two seconds to buckle up, just two seconds! And those two seconds could literally save your life. They will also keep you from getting a ticket and a fine.

The Watsonville Police Department and law enforcement agencies throughout California will be out in full force to make sure you have your seat belts on. 

From May 20th to June 2nd, we’ll have extra officers on patrol looking for drivers and passengers who are not buckled up, including drivers who do not secure children in child safety seats.

This enforcement effort is part of the national Click It or Ticket campaign focused on increasing seat belt use. 

At 96.2%, California has one of the highest seat belt use rates in the nation. However, 532 people killed in crashes statewide last year were not wearing a seat belt.

Kid in car seatIn California, the fine for a seat belt violation is $162, and $490 for failing to secure a child in the proper safety seat.

Under California law, children under two years old, weighing under 40 pounds and under 40 inches tall are required to be in a rear-facing car seat. Children under the age of eight must be secured in a car or booster seat in the back seat. 

Funding for Click It or Ticket enforcement efforts are provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.



Sólo toma dos segundos para abrocharte el cinturón de seguridad. Y esos dos segundos podrían salvarte la vida e incluso, ayudarte a evitar una infracción y multa. 

El Departamento de Policía de Watsonville y agencias del orden público a lo largo de estado estarán tomando medidas enérgicas contra personas no usando el cinturón de seguridad. 

A partir del 20 de mayo hasta el 2 de junio, tendremos a oficiales adicionales buscando a estos infractores, incluyendo a los conductores que no aseguran a menores en asientos de seguridad para niños. 

Estos esfuerzos para incrementar el uso del cinturón de seguridad son parte de la campaña nacional Click It or Ticket, en español Abrochado o Multado.

Con un 96, 2%, California tiene una de las tasas más altas de uso de cinturón de seguridad en la nación. Sin embargo, las 532 personas que murieron en accidentes viales en California el año pasado no llevaban puesto el cinturón de seguridad. 

En California, la multa por una violación del cinturón de seguridad es de $162, y $490 por no asegurar a un menor en un asiento de seguridad adecuado. 

Bajo la ley estatal, niños menores de dos años, pesando menos de 40 libras y midiendo menos de 40 pulgadas tienen que ir en una silla infantil orientada hacia atrás. Niños menores de ocho años deben estar asegurados en el auto o en un asiento elevador en el asiento trasero. 

Esta campaña es financiada por una subvención de la Oficina de Seguridad Vial de California a través de la Administración Nacional de Seguridad en las Autopistas.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home

Book Covers

Watsonville Reads: Book Club Kits

Posted on: January 31, 2024

Writing about the Ville

Posted on: February 15, 2024